You are here:    Home Portfolio The Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games are a multi-sport championship event that takes place among the Commonwealth nations and territories, open to youth between the ages of 14 and 18 in the year of competition.  The first games, then called the British Empire Games, were held in Canada in 1930.  The games take place every for years.

Gymnastics is an optional sport and included at the discretion of the host country.  It was first included in 1978 and has been part of the Games each year since 1990.  The Cayman Islands first participated in the Games in 1978 in Edmonton and claimed their first medal in 2002 with a bronze medal in the men’s high jump for Kareem Streete-Thompson. They won their next medal at the 2010 Delhi Games where Cydonie Mothersill came first in the Women’s 200m in a time of 22.89.

Recent and Upcoming Commonwealth Games:

 2010 Delhi India

2014 Glasgow Scotland (23 July to 3 August)

2018 Gold Coast City, Australia (4 to 15 April)